The Omozone

EtchyCat

• Established Member

Hiiiiya~

I have been asked quite a bit recently on the discord about armor and how you go to the bathroom while wearing it so i figured I would tell you all about my first experiences with it!

For those of you who don't know me, I'm an avid martial artist, LARPer, DnD nut, and just general nerd of all kinds. This particular story follows my first time wearing armor for a LARP event. 

Setting up a little backstory here, I had done a fair bit of armed martial arts including various Japanese arts, HEMA, various European styles and some live steel combat at this point. I had also done a fair bit of cosplaying so I had a good amount of experience wearing armor of all kinds ranging from honest to goodness real plate mail to foam cosplay armor. I knew the ins and outs of how to wear it, take it off and put it on and what I needed to do to make sure I was healthy fighting in it.

*Insert literal gallons of water here*

The only thing I HADN'T had experience in was wearing it for more than a few hours at a time. This meant that by the time I was squirmy, it was time to unbuckle and get out of it anyways. never an issue!

So off I set to the camp with aluminium plate in tow. This particular armor and costume was by no means historically accurate, but it was awesome and took forever for me to get together. It consisted of the following in order of donning:

• Tight fitting and water wicking black pants, a black underarmor shirt and brown boots.
  • A leather warskirt that looked alot like a tabard. This went over my head and draped down both my front and back. Three armored flaps hung down from either side protecting my crotch and butt.
  • Hard Leather greaves for my legs that fitted over my boots.
  • A 3 piece segmented chest and back that moved with my torso beautifully. It connected on both sides with 3 rear facing buckles each.  
  • A set of segmented pauldrons that looked super cool, but were a little bulky.